A&E or Saffron Walden?

Why oh why am I so stupid sometimes? Small detail is important especially when it comes to taking numerous forms of drugs. Taking 20 anti sickness tablets instead of 20 steroids is not conducive to a grand shopping trip!

So here I sit, but it could be worse, my marvellous drug trial researcher had called Addenbrooks Hospital and they were all prepared for my imminent arrival, so everything ran as smoothly as it could.

Sadly though I was threatened with 2 large glasses of charcoal specially prepared to make me throw up, the exact process I have avoided for the last 18 years and the whole reason I take the anti sickness drugs in the first place! I was feeling mighty sorry for myself. In my usual Pollyanerish way, I tried to think of a positive, and all I could come up with, was being able to experience what it must feel like, when someone has taken an overdose as a suicide attempt and being able to be better empathise with them.

Luckily for me they decided to take another course of action instead so I haven’t had to be sick after all. Also any ill effects would be noticeable within 30 minutes and so far so good!

I have had an ECG which was fine, bloods taken which were ok just a bit low on potassium so I am in the process of having that through a drip now.

The worse that can apparently happen is that food will pass through me at a quicker rate which means I could shit myself on my hot date! ( holy NO please god!)

Will I still get to the shops today.? Sadly maybe not.

Note to self. Do not multi task when taking drugs and have a chaperone with you at all times!

Has it really come to that?

12 thoughts on “A&E or Saffron Walden?

  1. I sincerely do hope you don’t shit yourself on your date either….luckily you have a choice of outfits, so maybe it’s wise to take a spare….

  2. Please never do that again!
    I hope you are feeling much better and able to go shopping but thinking about your wardrobe I am sure you can fin something really lovely among the things you have. Lots of love

  3. As Jem says, all Mylemoma patients should have a pretty spreadsheet and possibly a chaperone especially once the chemo brain kicks in! Good luck with that hot date.
    Lorna. X

  4. Oh Deborah,sounds like you are not having the best day!We love the comments from Jem,role reversal or what.
    Parcel on its way to you,hope it will keep you cosy.Sadly,it is not at all suitable for your forthcoming hot date
    love and hugs,
    auntyJudy

  5. Oh my lovely, dizzy cousin! Shaking my head but realising at the same time that I could have made exactly the same mistake! Praying now for both your health and mental agility…. Ooooh… And your bowel!!! Xxxx

  6. Hi Deborah,you be careful with all those tablets if you ‘no likeeee you no takeeee’
    And by the way who is the young looking lady with short hair at the top of this page ??

  7. OH Dear Deborah! As my 15 year old granddaughter would say ” What are you like?” ( I can’t do the scathing intonation that creeps in when it is addressed to me!) go with the drug chart but also
    go back to nursing & get a senior person to check! Have a great day with te hot date!

  8. I know I shouldn’t laugh, but I am. Sorry! So glad you’re ok.
    If it helps at all, I bought myself a weekly pill box (Medi-memo) and dispensed my drugs a week at a time – especially useful when you take different pills on different days, as I know you do. Then all I had to do was remember to take them at the right times. Mobile phone reminders are SO useful. I think there are apps too, but not tried them.

Leave a Reply

