Taste buds and Tiredness.

It would appear that the destroying of taste buds is a common side effect of chemo and I am afraid to report, that my throat and mouth are starting to feel quite uncomfortable now and that even the taste of toothpaste is escaping me. The only foods that seem to be providing any sense of relief or possible enjoyment are those that are very cold. So I am craving ice lollies but I am not sure how nutritional they are? I also found a packet of popping candy in the cupboard (don’t ask what that was doing there) which was sort of fun. I must admit I am a little concerned that this is after only one round of the old beetle juice and I have another 4 or 5 to go.

The other side effect (and yes I am back off the steroids, roll on monday!) is exhaustion. I like to keep busy in mind if not in body, but yesterday I was completely floored. Still it gave me a chance to put our new Ikea bed settee to good use and I spent most of yesterday sleeping, very embarrassingly almost dropping off when an old school friend came to visit.

I was hoping that after, my record breaking 3 hour afternoon nap, I would have been able to stay awake long enough to see if the camera caught Kate and I on the Johnston Ross show but it wasn’t to be, never mind, I have that to look forward to today.

Sleep is boring, I have always considered it over rated, I have far too much I want to do, but it looks like I am just going to have to give in to it and allow the time to let my body heal and rest. Perhaps I shall have to take up a slower, quieter hobby like doing jigsaw puzzles (God forbid!) I do have a couple of book ideas inside my head so that may be worth pursuing.

Ooh yes if there are any newspapers or journalists out there I would so love to write a column in a magazine, now that would be fun.

You can’t keep me down for long!

Mental Health Score = 4
Physical health = 4
0 = good 10 = bad

14 thoughts on “Taste buds and Tiredness.

  1. Deb with your imagination and the way in which you convey your feelings, you would have a best seller on you hands. What about a few suggestions for a title for your book. I would like to start this with a couple that could be called.
    Pussies I have stroked.(maybe that’s one for me)
    My septic tank hell. or Shit in the Garden (like them both).
    My New sofa has a poltergeist living in it.
    Come on other blog readers give your titles for Deb’s New best seller!!! AngelaXX

    • Angela! I’m not intending to write a saucy novel! References to shit in our garden was a recent almost overfill disaster of our cesspit but thanks to Colin’s dad who gallantly came to the rescue with his pump all was avoided. I shall have to get my thinking hat on.

  2. Deb, is “Came to the rescue with his pump” some sort of sexual connotation! You could indeed write a sexy novel with lines like that one!!AngelaX

  3. I definitely think u should write a book. With regard to ur taste buds, I’ve got an innocent smoothy book, which has lots of nutritional fruit and veg smoothys in it, u could have a nice cold drink and get the nutrition u need. U can even freeze them for later!! Let me know if u want me to pop it round. Xx

  4. The book is a must!!! As for food n drink my hubbie lost his sense of smell n taste through head injury so we make different texture foods bit odd ar first but hot n cold crunchy salty n sweet i used to make really hot chilli but all that does is burn his throat..oops! ..ice cold smothies made into lolly pops sound good x

  5. I used to have injections that made everything I ate taste soapy, great way to shed a few pounds you’d have thought, but no I just kept eating calorific junk to try and discover something nice. Do give in to rest, sorry your scores aren’t higher,hope they will be soon x

  6. Awww Mum take it easy. I’m sure anyone who visits you, whether friend or family wouldn’t mind f you fell asleep. The fact is they would be happy like me that you’re still here, hopefully for many years to come, fighting this. I look forard to getting you for the wholeeeeee day Tuesday. However please sleep when you’re tired! Love you always and forever xxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

