Our amazing NHS yet again…

came up trumps and I don’t think I could receive better care anywhere else in the world. I turned up at the University College London Hospital (UCLH) yesterday and made my usual joke about reporting for duty ( my wish). This time, exhausted by my 5 min walk I half joked about any chance of a bed. No sooner said than done, and I found myself lying down in a spotless side room in the Parallel Universe, having my needs assessed by a very experienced caring nurse. Due to the increasingly severe pain in my legs the doctors carefully weighed up the pros and cons of giving me my next dose of Chemo (Velcade).

There is apparently a grading system for side effects and my pain reached a grade that advised not to administer yesterday’s dose and also to consider whether I should receive Thursdays or at least whether it should be reduced. It is good to know that the medical profession are so cautious and considerate in these matters. The pain right now (2.30am) has reached 7 out of 10 ( where 10 is very bad) so I think they definitely made the right decision. Luckily the doctor prescribed 30mg Co-codamol which I am hoping will kick in soon. Meanwhile I am trying to distract myself by writing this blog. (Not very easy to be honest).

I am somewhat disappointed as I know the drug was working so well at hammering the cancer cells but I really don’t want the pain to get any worse or be irreversible. I have just read it can last for months so I am going to have to get some serious visualisation going to imagine it away somehow.

Talking about pride again, Thank you Pollyanna for coming along with us yesterday and congratulations on your most recent job offer of Performance Manager at one of the leading hospitals in London. (Kings College Hospital) Go for it girl, the experience of working within a prestigious acute hospital at that level will do you no harm at all (accept perhaps for the long commute) and you have so much to give.

Right lets get back to… Which type of therapy?

Cognitive behaviour therapy (CBT)

CBT is a form of talking therapy that combines cognitive therapy and behaviour therapy. It focuses on how you think about the things going on in your life – your thoughts, images, beliefs and attitudes (your cognitive processes) – and how this impacts on the way you behave and deal with emotional problems. It then looks at how you can change any negative patterns of thinking or behaviour that may be causing you difficulties. In turn, this can change the way you feel.

CBT tends to be short, taking six weeks to six months. You will usually attend a session once a week, each session lasting either 50 minutes or an hour. Together with the therapist you will explore what your problems are and develop a plan for tackling them. You will learn a set of principles that you can apply whenever you need to. You may find them useful long after you have left therapy.

CBT may focus on what is going on in the present rather than the past. However, the therapy may also look at your past and how your past experiences impact on how you interpret the world now.

CBT theory suggests that it isn’t events themselves that cause you anxiety and upset, but the meanings you give to them.

I have found another short film which I think explains it well.

http://youtu.be/D_xNb031C9o

We use CBT in much of the work we do with the young people who are referred to us in Step2, with excellent outcomes.

As I have also previously mentioned Neuro-Linguistic Programming (NLP) is a collection of tools and strategies and uses CBT in much of its approaches to helping yourself or others.

For a free online CBT course go to the link below, ‘Living Live to the Full’ is sponsored by NHS Scotland all you need to do is register.

http://www.llttf.com/

Have a great Tuesday and wrap up warm.

X

4 thoughts on “Our amazing NHS yet again…

  1. Thanks for all this extremely useful information and references Deborah. I’m so sorry you are feeling the effects of your medication so badly. As I head out of this glorious country on the journey home, I do so with renewed vigour and a determination that your blogs have inspired in me.

    How selfless of you whilst you are going through all of this to be so generous in your thoughts and spirit as to offer this wisdom to others. I thank you xx

  2. HI Deb Yes I think our NHS gets a battering at times but when you see such commitment and care you have to thank goodness, we can at least access this wonderful system.
    You are receiving the best there is at this moment in time and are working well with your mind to over come the hurdles. Now that is as powerful as any drug you could ever prescribe. Shame you can’t make it into a pill,but you are in a way, making a difference with words. Love the blog, your energy, and your bloody mindedness to keep positive. Angela.X

Leave a Reply

