Home Sweet Home

It is good to be home. Colin came to collect me at 11am but we didin’t get to leave the hospital until 3.15, as we waited all that time for my medication to be ready to take home.

My final diagnosis, according to my discharge summary, was Hepatobilary Sepsis, which is apparently (according to my good friend, Google), a life threatening infection of the liver or biliary area.  Hence the reason for keeping me in hospital and giving me IV anti biotics.

I can’t say I feel a 100% well but I am certainly a lot brighter than I was. Unfortunately I still have some pain in my right side making it difficult to lie on my right or left.  This s probably due to my liver cysts, although they have not caused me much pain in the past. I blame the enormous amount of drugs I have been having pumped into my body. Perhaps it was the steroids that caused one in particular to grow to a whopping 9cm.  I also still have the neuropathic pain although I think it is working its way down to my fingers and toes so I reckon it’s on it’s way out of my body.  Thank goodness for good pain killers.

Anyway enough of my complaining about my aches and pains, honestly it is boring me so it must make for pretty dull reading.

If I feel alert enough today I shall stuff myself with my remaining chocolate whilst working on my book. I had better enjoy the chocolate whilst I can, as one lunch out together, was enough for my husband and sister to cook up some sort of exercise and diet regime between them. Of course I couldn’t possibly start such a thing whilst feeling so poorly!

I also need to start thinking about the Summer Party as I know time will fly by and there is so much to organise. There is a whole committee willing to help out with the planning and organising we just need to get together to discuss the details. It will be so exciting and will keep my occupied, not that I need much to keep me busy.  I cannot understand these people who say they are bored, there is so much to do and enjoy in life my problem is finding the time and energy to fit it all in.

So I think today there will be some succumbing (I don’t want a return trip to hospital) mixed with a little Meday book research and writing. I also have a few TV programmes to catch up on such as , A Day in the life of the NHS. Poor Colin he would much rather watch a repeat of yet another Carry On film.

I should of course be going to church this Sunday morning but I can’t risk bumping into anyone with even the slightest of infections. Colin and I will just make our own  thanks and praises to the universe, God and whoever else we can think of in the privacy of our own home.

Happy Easter Sunday to you all.

Deborah x

8 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Happy Easter to you Deborah! Glad to hear that you are back home again. Take good care of yourself now. You are never boring reading, I want to know how you feel and are doing. So do not worry for writing about the reality, that is not complaining! This is not an easy thing we are going through. I wish you all the best. Nina

  2. Dear Deborah,
    Welcome home. Happy Easter. Stay in the warm, it was minus 3..5 first thing.

    Lots of love,

    Patrick
    Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone on O2

  3. Very relieved to hear you’re home now, Deb. Relax and enjoy the rest of the Easter break. Can’t believe it’s so cold on the other side of the world! It’s still very warm and humid here in Sydney.

    Mo xxx

  4. Yesterday I felt privileged t wake up t sunshine and feel healthy but I always spare thoughts for you deb and others that I can no longer communicate with lots of love x

    • I often think about those who lost their fight and I feel grateful to still wake up in the morning even if it can seem a struggle sometimes. Xxxx

Leave a Reply

