The sun was out …

… and so was I. Even if it was only for a brief interlude. Allison took me out for tea to the cutist little tea room in Walkern. Here we sat sipping Earl Gray from mix and match dainty tea cups and enjoying a warm scone and the most delicious meringue. I can thoroughly recommend the Walkern Tea Room but I think it’s advisable to book ahead as it’s very popular and only seats about 20 people. It also hosts a little gift area which meant I could actually choose a little something for my good friends birthday.

An hour was as much as I could cope with before returning to base station and back to sleep. As I seem to spend most of my time sleeping I almost wondered if I had dreamt it all.
When I did finally stir in the conservatory sunshine I was surprised and delighted to notice a little red package by my side. Can you believe it, a lovely new friend from the village had popped down a plastic wallet containing postcards and first class stamps. Now I did think I was dreaming! Having cancer certainly opens your eyes to the good and kindness around. So yesterday evening I started entering the postcard competitions listed in the back of my new magazine. There are so many exciting things to dream about winning, cars, holidays, picnic hampers, a sewing machine, gardening goodies, a new bathroom just loads of stuff ready and waiting. Now I will be getting really excited again about the postman coming. Having won a few prizes before I know these things are possible and I have just been reading about some fantastic things my fellow Compers won last month. I shall have to start looking out for more competitions in all sorts of places and brushing up on my slogan writing skills.

Thank you Wendy and Allison for making my day.

Deborah x

PS. I must add that my lovely research guardian angel Janet is running today’s marathon for Myeloma Research. Please join with me in sending her lots of positive vibes and best wishes. You can still sponsor her by going to the Janet Lyons-Lewis fundraising page through virgin money giving.

Or just click on this link
http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-web/fundraiser/showFundraiserProfilePage.action?userUrl=JanetLyonsLewis

Leave a Reply

