Para Proteins

If you have myeloma, your bone marrow starts to make abnormal plasma cells. These cells are known as myeloma cells, which produce an abnormal type of antibody known as paraprotein or M protein. Unlike a normal antibody, paraprotein doesn’t have any useful functions and can’t fight infection.

Myeloma cells are cancerous, meaning they grow in an uncontrolled way. They can spread though your bone marrow and bone, causing the symptoms of myeloma.

When I was officially diagnosed as having Myeloma on 8th January 2013 I had a score of 53 para proteins/gl

Four cycles of chemo later I have…..

ZERO. NONE. 0

Can you believe it? Yesterday I was told that I had had a complete response to treatment.

This means that at this moment in time I have no cancerous cells in my body.

It is quite hard to get my head around really but I never doubted that together we could do it. It is the best outcome that I could hope for.

Now it doesn’t mean I don’t have Myeloma as apparently I will always have that? My bone marrow apparently produces these abnormal cells but at this moment in time I don’t have any of them because the chemotherapy has killed them all off.

The next step is the harvesting of my stem cells. This includes a bit more chemo, approx ten days of injecting a cell growing drug and then the stem cell collection. These stem cells will then be stored in a big freezer until I need them.

I am visualising never actually needing them. I am told that the para proteins will rise again but I am going for about 15 years before that happens and by then I expect those very clever people to have found a cure so a transplant won’t be necessary.

The doctors aren’t quite as optimistic as I am and they like to give an average of about two years before they will be required, but even two years is a long time in the advancement of new treatments. This is why cancer research is so important and the reason for my Summer fund raising party.

Today will be a good day as I bask in the sunshine and the knowledge of a cancer free body. Sofa surfing will be a pleasure instead of a chore. Knowing I am in remission with just a little way to go before my treatments are all over for now is really comforting. The sun will start to re energise my tired cells and help to reduce the pain in my hands and legs.

Hooray for sunshine and Hooray for remission.

Thank you to all at UCLH, to the clever doctors, researchers and nurses and ….

Thank you dear readers for all for your help on this journey.

I hope your day will be as good as mine.

Deborah x

29 thoughts on “Para Proteins

  1. What amazing news! Clever you, clever chemo. We never doubted for a second that your determination would bash the cancer to smithereens. So glad I took 5 mins to sit down and read today’s blog, that’s the best start to a morning we could ever ask for. Love to you all xxxxxx

  2. What fabulous, fantastic, incredible news!! I’m so very pleased for you and your family.

    Much love and happy sparkles …

  3. I am so pleased for you. It’s the best news to read in the morning. Enjoy the sunshine today. Take care 😀

  4. Many more years of your nagging then hey Mum/Grandma…. We hope so!!! We love you lots and very happy about the fantastic news! Woohoo!!! ❤ xxxxxxxxxxxxxx Love Jem & Elliot xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  5. Today will be a really good day for me too as I am so delighted to hear your news. you don’t know me, I am a friend of Kate’s, but your news today has made me feel really happy and at peace with the world. You are an amazing lady and there is a huge amount of positive energy coming from your readers to help you recover. Xxxxx

    • Thank you Heather the positive energy has really helped towards my recovery and I am sure has made a big difference in zapping those cancerous cells..

  6. I am so very delighted to read this news. I’d love to come to your summer fundraiser if there is room. Big hug to u and Kate. xx

  7. The best ever news Debs, so happy for you. What a difference that Willbe to your weekend away…..you may even have a spring in your step!

  8. So very happy to hear this news! I also am a friend of Kate’s ,and your blog has been such an inspiration,thankyou,thankyou,thankyou! xxx

  9. Absolutely brilliant Deb, in B.C. Canada here I woke up to your good news too (8 hour time difference), so am absolutely thrilled for you and your family. Chemo is not too much fun at all, but you have managed to keep such a good sense of humour through it all, and I just feel so relieved that these days chemo is so much more sophisticated than even twenty years ago, so much more tailored to individual needs, so many more successful outcomes for what is really quite “do-able” when one sets ones mind to it with a positive attitude such as yours has been.
    I shall be interested in the stem cell aspect, and hope you keep up your blog through that, as that is in my future too, with “indolent” B cell lymphoma (I refuse to capitalize it) also being a permanent fact of my life and the Drs have mentioned it as another challenge along the road, so hope it’s not too bumpy a ride. Lots of love and an extra hug, and one for your Mum too, my dear cousin Jill, as I can only begin to imagine how tough it must be to see your daughter having to suffer through all this. Nicola XO

  10. So happy to hear this Deb, may the little buggers never bother you again!
    It was so good to visit you and your (not so) new place the other day!
    Love from Lucy

  11. What brilliant news, Deborah, not only for you (the most important person) but also for Colin and the rest of your family and those of us in Hinxworth (and elsewhere too) who have been thinking of and praying for you. Hopefully you will soon start to build up your strength again in the spring and summer sunshine and we’ll continue to root for you!

  12. Darling niece,what amazingly happy news,now,you are well on the way to a full recovery.Just get this stem cell harvesting completed and you can begin to get back to normal.What a journey this has been for you and all those who have walked this road alongside you.
    loads of love,and a big hug to all of you.
    xxxxx

Leave a Reply

