Good morning world

Some people might say that I was born with a silver spoon in my mouth others might think I haven’t been so lucky. I think I am the luckiest person in the world. Just look at the view I woke up to this morning.
image
Yesterday was wonderful and I just didn’t want it to end so Colin and I decided to sleep in our conservatory so we could watch the sun go down and rise again in the morning.
image
We love our home so much and appreciate every moment we have there.

What more could I want out of life? I have the most perfect husband,two beautiful daughters, the best sister in the world, a loving family and the best of best friends.

I have also been able to do a job that I love, working for the best organisation in the world.

Maybe you might think getting cancer isn’t so lucky but I disagree. OK there are days when I feel really rough and more than a little sorry for myself but those days have been few. Cancer has given me the opportunity and time to reflect on the important things in life. It has opened my eyes to the beauty and kindness around me. It has allowed me to take a rest and be cared for. Being cared for wasn’t so easy to begin with as that was a role I always saw myself in but when I thought more about it I realised that I was being quite selfish not allowing others to do the same. Caring makes me feel good so why deny others that same feeling and not allow others to care for me when I need it most.

Yesterday a friend who I hadn’t seen for some time came to visit. She isn’t someone I know very well but our paths have crossed at various times at work and events we have both been invited to. It was lovely to see her and I appreciated the time she took to come over and chat over a cup of tea.

I think the great news of my para protein free body has spread to every cell and they are all rejoicing, dancing around and providing me with the energy I had been longing for.

The world is a beautiful place, perhaps this is heaven? I thank God, the Universe, and evolution for sharing it with me at this very moment. It feels good to be alive.

I wish all of my fellow myeloma sufferers and their carer’s the same good fortune and wish them all a healthy future. We will hang in there together awaiting the break through news of a cure.

Today I will see my grandson who has just taken his first steps. I will be well enough to get dressed and hold his hand as we wander around the garden together.

What more in life could I ask for? I may not have much money but I am one of the richest people in the world.

I hope your day will be as good as mine and if it possibly can be even better

Deborah x

PS I apologise if you think this post is too Pollyannerish but I promised from the start I would be honest about my feelings.

Scores on the board

Mental Health = fantastic
Physical Health = getting there.

4 thoughts on “Good morning world

  1. Another inspirational blog, thank you! And that view you woke to looks like pure bliss.

    May your day be filled with love and twinkles.

  2. Well that bought a tear to my eye in joy. I’m rejoicing with you Debs, and I too have had my eyes opened in a similar (if not so harrowing) way to yours. Life IS good. I’ve learned that pretty much what consumes me with worry and seems so important one moment, is forgotten in another – so I’ve liberated myself from worrying. I just deal with stuff as and when it presents itself.

    You are an inspiration and we are indeed, very wealthy women despite our lack of funds!

  3. You are very inspirational, I am sure if I was in your position I would not be able to feel the same. The news you are cancer free is wonderful. Pat x

Leave a Reply

