I’m a celebrity get me out of here…

…well to be fair I never really got in. I arrived at the Hospice at the set time, bags and all, and was shown to a very nice single room. On my way down the corridor I past the room of rest, with a sign on the door saying who to think and pray about that had passed away that week. I really didn’t want to be added to the list and however much I tried to remind myself that this was a good place to be, that would get my pain properly managed, I wanted to go home. My pain has felt more manageable ever since the trip out with Kate to Laura Ashley.

I had only just got time to put on my slippers and work out how to manage the reclining chair before the nurse and doctor appeared to assess my pain and make a plan for my stay. How do you explain to the doctor you had only seen a few days ago, that a shopping trip had worked like magic? However he was very understanding and took into account the increase in Amitriptyline that he had recommended on Friday. After a few tears, which seem to appear every time I think about my loss of role at work, he decided to up the dose even further. So I am now taking 50mg of Amitriptyline which is the dose given for depression. We agreed that this could knock the pain and low levels of depression both on the head at the same time, and best of all that there was no reason to stay as an inpatient. I can’t tell you how delighted I was to be driven back home again. Mum and Dad were house sitting as we were expecting a delivery of laminate flooring for our new room, so when I returned, I felt this time as if I was in an episode of the Apprentice where the group wait to see who has returned from the board room.

I spent the rest of my day resting in celebration of my quick escape and contemplating my next episode of treatment that begins with the chemo on Saturday.

I had exciting email from my lovely nephew in LA with a picture of a signed poster especially for me. It is of the great country singer Tim Mcgraw and although he hasn’t quite spelt my name correctly it will still be exciting to receive it when Seb comes over for the party.
image
One of my favourite songs of his is ‘Live like you are dying’. It brings back memories of Colin and I singing it at the top of our voices as we travelled through Europe in our motorhome, ignorant of what was to come.

http://youtu.be/TNWg5DlWVa8

Deborah x

6 thoughts on “I’m a celebrity get me out of here…

  1. aww that is such lovely news and quickest escape ever… hope your pain subsides and you can rest up pain free in your wonderful lookout aka conservatory xx

  2. Glad you were well enough to go home Mum. Lovely of Seb to organise that… whoever Tim is… sure he’s a great singer. xx

  3. Brilliant you slippery thing, I am surprised you didn’t squeeze some extra ‘essential’ clothes shopping on the way home 😉 Glad you are home and feeling better painwise. In terms of work, surely you could consider being a part time consultant when you have been through treatment and work at a pace that suits you, or set up something online that supports parents/children/etc that professionals can buy into… or design some more amazing tool kits for kids to understand themselves… Just because you are not in your previous role you were doesn’t mean that you can’t or don’t still have a different role in a different place and continue to make a huge if not more humongous difference, c’mon ‘sistah’! Or tell me to shut up 🙂 xxx

    • No don’t shut up Coleen and Thank you for reminding me of all the other opportunities out there. You are an inspiration I just need to get my butt into gear. Once the harvesting is over and done with I am counting on the pain to have been gone and then there will be no stopping me.
      Are you able to come to my party on July 13th? It would be good to see you xxx

      • Debbie, “hello” you are on sabbatical, don’t rush, heck you know and I know the need for fabulous folk to nurture ‘our’ communal children’s growth is always going to be there – use this as your obstacle course within which you build more of those ingenious mind muscles, look at the just use the multi-layers of emotions you are currently experiencing, look at how you are working hard to counter those… even in the horrid position of having to be exposed to those unwanted feelings, pain and change I KNOW you will be collating experiential processes and will come up with new thoughts and strategies that will help others, because that’s what makes you tick ‘innit’, helping others, and no matter how much everyone will say, concentrate on yourself, I bet you think bugger that, I don’t want it to be about me… (sorry I am projecting, that’s me 😉 but I would put a solid bet on you being similar.. I guess what I am saying is re frame the experience as research then sock it to us when you feel better and bad ass and I bet your ideas will be EVEN better.. there is a whole heap of work out there that will wait and evolve, take stock then boomshakala 😉 PARTY, hell yes I wondered when you would ask!! What is it for and can anyone else come and how much 🙂 Mwaaaaaa x

  4. so happy that you managed to get home lovely niece.Go with that amitriptyline Debs,and let it work its wonders!xxxx

Leave a Reply

