What a great team…

…we make. First we smash those cancerous cells to smithereens and then we go and grow enough baby cells for at least two transplants. You really can’t ask for more than that. For those of you wondering what happens next, I have an appointment for an echocardiogram and one with the consultant on July 11th. I expect then to bo booked in for another MRI scan and bone biopsy. These are tests that are routinely carried out but are also more important as I am taking part in a clinical trial. They will measure how many cancerous cells are left in my bone marrow and the damage that has been done to my bones. I already have several bone lesions but the consultants for one reason or another have been reluctant to let on where exactly they are. I have been very lucky with my cancer as it was spotted through a routine blood test and prior to me having any symptoms. For many other people the diagnosis is often spotted after a broken bone often in the neck or back.

My stem cells are being put on ice. That is because I am on a trial that will monitor how long it will be before I require a transplant. They reckon from between 18 months and two years, but I am counting on a good ten years before the little blighters start reproducing again. It is for this reason that I will be closely monitored and the reason why, unfortunately that your never without the constant reminder of your disease. It’s not like a cancer where a bit can be chopped off and then you are monitored for a few years and then if all is Ok you are off the hook. Myeloma sticks with you lying dormant like a sleeping dragon waiting to be woken again to breathe its fire. You need to learn to live with myeloma, make it your friend really, and set up some sort of pact. If I don’t poke you, you will leave me alone. Hmm maybe that’s more like an ex partner than a friend!

Oh well apart from the odd appointment to remind me, I want to pretty much forget about the whole thing and start living again. My first task is to ween myself off the enormous amount of drugs I’m taking so that I can enjoy a drink at the party.

Thinking about the party I have a few personal errands to run. Luckily our lovely old motorhome sailed through its MOT so we shall bring her home today and may take her out for a spin. I have been told to take it easy for a couple of days and my cancer co-ordinator said I should allow 3 months post cancer treatments to be back to my normal self. Well they don’t know me very well. I have just about had as much as I can stand of all of this sitting around. However I will take it easy for a day or two, I don’t want to rupture my groin!

Thank you for all your messages of support. When I talk about this having being a team effort, I mean this in all sincerity. Those of you who have provided support in the way of just reading the blog and letting me know you were on the same team helped immensely. The brain and the body are intricately connected and positivity of thought is very necessary. That is not to take away from the amazing skills of the medical teams playing their part in my recovery and present remission status.

Bless you all

Deborah xxx

4 thoughts on “What a great team…

  1. wow fantastic news xx indeed the power of the mind… but your fighting spirit and sheer determination that alagainst all odds….ANY odds you were going to beat this…..weldone you xxx

  2. You are an inspirational and amazing girl, young Deborah ,that Capricorn indomitable spirit is a wonderful thing 🙂 lotsa love Mary xxx

Leave a Reply

