Will it carry on…

…the blog, that is. Many have people have asked me this question and requested that it does continue. And the answer is YES, although it might not be as frequently as it has been, we shall see. Unfortunately I can never go back to the point before, I entered the world of blogging and the place that I call the parallel universe. I will always be looking over my shoulder as myeloma lurks in a dark corner of my body threatening the time I have left in the real world. It is because of this I have to seriously consider how I spend the time I have left in the world, in that place called reality. I have completed the required paperwork to go before a panel, who will decide if I meet the criteria for early retirement due to ill health. If this is the case, I really do have to carefully, think about the options stretching out before me. Colin and I would love to travel more in our motorhome and are already thinking about spending the winter months in Portugal chasing the warmth of the sun. This might or might not be possible and will probably depend on what my consultant has to say on July 11th. Myeloma hold’s my diary, deciding when and where I need to be at any given time. I do not want this to be so, I want to tell myeloma to **** ***, well, to go where the sun don’t shine, but he is already there waiting to pounce whenever he chooses, is the right time to do so. Myeloma is my dictator and for a control freak like me, it is difficult to bare. I will use all my visualisation skills to keep him at bay. I shall imagine him drowning and unable to come up for breath. We shall see who of us is the strongest and I shall imagine that to be me. So there will be plenty more to write about. There are a number of adventures and opportunities for me to explore. One of them will be how to make money if I do retire. There is always the book and there are some possibilities for training. But this will be the time, when I will need be at my most creative, sculpting numerous opportunities out of the clay I have collected throughout, the many years of my career as a nurse. Although I won’t be able to personally work for the NHS anymore, we do have a private company which may be able to do so. These are not the choice’s I would have made six or seven months ago but nobody knows what lurks around the corner, and if anyone one of you fancies swapping places step right up.

Party plans are going well and we have just received a number of bales of straw for seating. It’s your last chance to let me know if you would like to come along to the big event on July 13th. My sincere apologies if you haven’t yet received a proper invite but if you do want a ticket just let me know by the end of today. A shopping trip out, yesterday, left me pretty exhausted, but at least we managed to sort out Colin’s outfit, and I did have the opportunity to take a nap after a lovely lunch, in our motorhome. It’s so good to have Helga back as she passed her MOT with flying colours.

Today I shall rest up and write the lists I keep meaning to write, share a cuppa with my lovely sister-in-law, and then catch up on some of the TV programmes that I have recorded but haven’t yet managed to see. I wonder how I ever fitted work in?

Enjoy yours!

Deborah xxx

6 thoughts on “Will it carry on…

  1. Deborah I do hope you can carry on with your blog from time to time as through it, and through all your sorrows and joys, trials and tribulations etc I feel I have come to know you probably better than if we lived closer. And this is sort of how I feel, too, at the end of a good book (shows what a good writer you are!) I just don’t want to let you go! As a bonus, I can also claim you as a genuine family member and just wish we had been able to share our lives more and earlier. I don’t suppose you remember at all a visit you made with your mum, sister, and grandmother to my family’s home in Cookham Dean in – it must have been 1971 and so you would have been about eight years old I suppose? The house was overrun with dachshunds!? I was visiting from Canada with my two children who were still babies. Tammy was about eighteen months, Adrian just a babe in arms. Anyway, I do remember you as a child from that occasion, and then we met once more when I stayed with your mum for a few days but can’t remember the year that was! I shall be continuing to think of you as you wend your way through the forest of decisions etc that face you both, and through the journeys you both take, both physical and metaphoric, I know you will make the most of every minute. Remember, too, that, quote, “where there is great love there are always miracles” (Willa Cather) and that you are a miracle, your family is a miracle, your friends and caregivers too. And by the way, give that hound of yours a hug! We have a real soft spot for any type of a greyhound/lurcher! Love to your mum too, and lots to you. Nicola

    Sent from my iPad

    • Thank you Nicola for your very kind words. I do remember visiting the house and seeing all the lovely little dogs. I also remember meeting you the second time around. It is a shame that you are so far away but if ever you fancy a trip to the UK you would be most welcome. I have found that writing the blog and receiving all the support and lovely comments has been very helpful towards my own recovery. How are you feeling? I hope that you are managing to cope with your own health battles and have lots of love and support around you, as I have, as it really does make an enormous difference.
      Take Care of yourself and lots of love to your family
      Deborah xxxx

    • Hi Mike I can promise you won’t be in the wrong stuff unless you were planning coming in black tie! Colin found some stuff he fancied in fat face. All very casual but wear whatever you fancy. I expect most people will be in jeans. It might get cold in the evening but we will have a bonfire later on to keep us warm. All very casual! We are looking forward to meeting you both Deborah

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

