A two in three chance.

These are the odds for me getting a relatively new drug yet to be licensed in Europe. The advantage of Carfilzomib over Velcade is that I am less likely to get the painful neuropathic side effects. To find out more about the benefits of this drug follow the link below, go to clinical trials and novel treatments and the top short film is all about Carfilzomib.

www.myelomatv.org.uk

The computer will pick the name out of the hat so I shall just have to hope the roulette wheel works in my favour. If I don’t take part in the trial I have no chance at all of receiving it, so I am fortunate to even be considered. I have a consultant appointment on Thursday morning followed by an MRI scan at 6pm so there will be quite a lot of hanging about  the hospital but they have a good download speed there so I am sure our iPads will come in useful.. They did offer me a bone biopsy on Friday but being my birthday I chose to postpone that joy until the following Monday. Apparently treatment is likely to follow the following week. It will mean travelling into London twice a week but the days are dependent on which drug I end up with. And this weeks lucky winner is….. I am visualising that Carfilzomib ticket being pulled out to a round of applause.

Yesterday was a better day emotionally as I was able to spend some time on the children’s mental health leaflets Colin and I are designing together. The content is pretty easy to pull together but designing the look of the booklet is a creative but enjoyable challenge. We are trying to learn a new package called Adobe Indesign which, once we have got the hang of the basics, will set us up on the way to produce even more leaflets etc. hopefully enabling us to earn a few more pounds in the future.

Today I am grateful for the NHS and the excellent support I get from UCLH
And one of the many things I am looking forward to today is spending some more time working alongside my loving husband.

Recently I  came across this excellent article which reminded me of my own Pollyanna who was named after the little girl in the film and has certainly lived up to her name.

“A New Look at the Value of Pollyanna’s Optimism! by Kate Nasser, The People Skills Coach(TM)

Over the years several leaders hhttp://katenasser.com/leadership-choose-positive-people-skills/ave told me that they would not promote someone who had a Pollyanna attitude. It was one of those leadership labels that spoke volumes. Their disdain was clear. They were describing optimism as unrealistic and naive.

Because leadership today focuses on positive thinking, I decided to watch the movie Pollyanna to see how this supposedly optimistic label earned such disdain.

I expected Pollyanna to be a foolish character that was out of touch with reality. I pictured being bored and reaching for the stop button.

Instead I saw a passionate change agent who spoke up to people regardless of their age, position. and disposition. Pollyanna was very much in touch with reality!”

You can read more on Kate’s great blog and find out more about her people skills twitter chats etc by touching the link below.  We have so much at our fingertips nowadays and it always amazes me just how much we can learn and share ideas with each other wherever we are in the world.

http://katenasser.com/leadership-choose-positive-people-skills/

Another amazing Kate is of course my lovely sister. Katie as she is known with her business hat on, together with her friend and business partner Anna, have set up a programme that will help you change the way you think about food, resulting in changes to your physical form and energy levels. More than just another healthy eating program The 15 minutes programme provides you with ongoing coaching and support to enable you to make the changes you desire and most importantly, sustain them. It has already run a successful pilot with great reviews. You could learn more from Katie, Anna and some of their previous clients on January 11th when they will be giving a talk at the Letchworth Arts Centre.  just follow the link below to find out more.

http://www.the15mins.com/

If you are looking for a way to make changes that will last, instead of embarking on another Yo-Yo diet or counting yet more calories I can promise you won’t be disappointed.

Now to get on with another days work whilst my health allows but not before a quick catch up on last nights TV.

Have a great day and I hope it isn’t too wet and cold wherever you are.

Deborah x

Leave a Reply

