Another long day…and I got angry!

Not with the NHS I hasten to add. I really can’t fault the care I receive at UCLH. Ok it was another long day but the surroundings and the kind and considerate staff do all they can to make it as easy and as pleasant as possible.

Yesterday we had a real treat, an amazingly talented artist asked if he could sketch a portrait of us. Simon is collecting a group of portraits for an exhibition and we were only too happy to oblige. We had to sit very still for over an hour but he was lovely to talk to and it helped to pass the time. He will be sending us a signed print, and a good quality photo which I hope to add to this blog, with a link to his site and exhibition, in a few days time.

And now for the angry bit. First of all it takes a lot to make me angry, it is not something I feel very often, but yesterday I was mad! My mini iPad has developed a fault down the
left hand side, making it hard to use some of the keys. Those that know me well, know just how much I rely on my technology, especially as it does help to while away the hours whilst sitting in the hospital. So Colin called the leading store that never knowingly under sells, and is supposedly proud of its customer service. On the second phone call, after speaking to someone who said he could swap it for a samsung, he finally got hold of the warranty department and spoke at some length to a very charming guy. He took all the details from our receipt, could see on his computer screen, when and where we bought it, and that it was well within the two year warranty date. It was bought on December 13th 2012. He clearly stated that we had two options, 1) to have a courier deliver a new iPad and take the other away, or 2) drop in to a store of our convenience and they will exchange it for us there. Colin confirmed that this would be ok to do at the Welwyn store as this would be on our journey home yesterday. The guy on the phone checked they had some in store, confirmed that he had made a record of the conversation, and up to that point we felt very happy with the process.

On arriving at the said store at 7pm, the end of a long day, we were directed towards technical support services and that’s when the fun started. A less than polite customer services lady told us that she would have to send the iPad away to be examined by their technical team before a repair or refund could be established. This could take a couple of weeks. I was rather tearful by this point, and explained my particular situation, and how much I relayed on my iPad. We also said, that we had made this journey after the clear instructions, we had received over the phone. Not once did she show any concern or sympathy, or apologise for any inconvenience, but she did eventually disappear to speak to her manager. On her return she reported she had spoken to the warranty service who had indeed made a note of our phone call. She told us that they had given us the wrong information. The said store has a 28 day refund policy and the man on the phone must have got the date confused thinking we bought it on December 13th 2013, however we later worked out this too would have fallen outside the 28 days! Again no apology was offered, she just told us that this was a one off, but they would exchange it in store, however we would have to return the next day with all the accessories that came with the original iPad. This was followed up with her telling us twice more about their 28 day policy, suggesting we were lucky to get away with it, as if she was doing US a favour and WE were in the wrong. We have never come across such poor customer service and if I hadn’t felt so tired I would have gone straight upstairs to their complaints compartment and ask to speak to the general manager. Something I will be doing over the phone whilst Colin rushes down the motorway yet again, before our appointment with the psychologist at midday.

Rant over but I still feel pretty mad and disappointed by the whole experience. I suppose it’s only a small thing in the scheme of things, but anything that makes our lives even slightly easier makes a big difference at the moment.

Take care dear readers

Deborah x

3 thoughts on “Another long day…and I got angry!

  1. How rude!! that’s all you need after a long day of treatment. I think you should complain about the customer service. I hope you have a more relaxing day today xx šŸ˜Š

  2. Just remember to name the store and hand over to me if you don’t get any compensation…. Or if I feel like you don’t get enough then il get on the case…. And you know what happens when I’m on the case! Vouchers and apologies! I’d love to call them!

  3. My friend had a similar experience with the same store when they delivered a bed she had ordered. They couldn’t get it up her stairs and when she burst into tears the delivery people told her to ‘stop crying – it’s only a bed’ and they took it away with them!
    She put in a complaint and they were most apologetic and she received a voucher to spend as compensation.
    Don’t let them get away with it – you have enough to deal with!!!

Leave a Reply

