Yet more poor customer service from John Lewis

Yes I have decided to name and shame them. Until Thursday I was a regular and loyal customer of theirs. I would even go as far to say it had been one of my favourites retailers up to that point.
However following on from yesterday’s saga with yet more poor service, I felt aggrieved enough to send the following email and I now await a response.

Dear Head of Customer Services

It is with great regret that I am having to write to you and complain about the appalling customer services we received from your Welwyn store on both Thursday and today (Friday). As a health professional I have in the past received training about how to take care of your customers and I have been a loyal customer of yours for many years. It is not in my nature to complain but I find myself in this regrettable situation and want it to be adequately addressed.

It is not a good time for me at the moment as I have recently been diagnosed with terminal cancer and the treatment I received from your store did not help to alleviate matters. We came in as instructed by a very pleasant man on the end of the telephone, the number that we called was at the bottom of our web receipt. My iPad had developed a fault, it is something that I rely on using during my long hours of waiting whilst receiving chemo. The man on the phone checked with the Welwyn store and said they had a few iPads in stock and we could pop in and pick up a replacement, which we did after a long hospital visit in London on Thursday.

Here is the order of events.

Thursday morning my husband (Colin) called the number on the web receipt. In the first instance my husband got through to a lady who suggested we call the nearest store to find out what replacement items they had in stock and suggested we could swap it for a Samsung. She also gave my husband the reference number in the subject line above.

My husband rang again to confirm a few details and this time got a pleasant man who explained the procedure. He took down all the details including the order number, date and place of purchase. He stated we had two options. 1) a courier would deliver a new iPad and take away the faulty one. 2) we could exchange it at a store of our convenience. My husband told him that the Welwyn store would be the best and as previously stated he checked they had them in stock

On Thursday at approximately 7pm we came into the Welwyn store and were directed to Technical Support. Here a lady (Kizam) told us that she would have to send the iPad away as that was the policy. We explained our situation and our previous phone call but she kept repeating the 28 day refund policy and the procedure regarding warranty. We asked if she would check our records for the information we were previously given. At this point I had become a little tearful, as maybe you can imagine, it was not the service we expected to receive. Kizam went away to discuss it with her manager and returned saying she had found the record of the conversation and on this occasion we could exchange the item. She said the man on the phone must have thought we said we had purchased the item on December 13th 2013 but even if we had (he had all of our details) it wouldn’t have been covered in the 28 days she was suggesting. She stated we would need to return to the store on Friday with all the accessories that came with the original iPad. Her manner was curt, unsympathetic and at no time did we receive an apology of any kind. She acted as if she was doing us a favour and that we were in the wrong, telling us twice again about the 28 day policy.

Today my husband returned to the store; I stayed at home and called to speak to someone in customer services at WGC. The lady on the phone was very pleasant and apologised for the service we received. She said she was in the department and would try to catch my husband to ensure all went smoothly.

When my husband entered the store today he was again directed to Technical Support. Here he was yet again told about the 28 day policy. Very patiently he explained our situation and said he knew all about this policy, being well versed with it by now and asked the gentleman to check the records. He was at no time given an apology or shown any kind of empathy towards our situation. He did get a replacement but had to pay an extra £50.00 as Apple no longer produced the model I previously owned. Luckily he was home in time for my next hospital appointment.

When he returned home I retold the story to my friend and advocate who called the store again. She was promised a call back within 2 hours. This she has still not received, 9 hours have past now.

This is not the service we expect from a store of your calibre. Although I mentioned it on my blog ( which has received 47,000 hits to date) I did not mention your name as I wanted to give the store a chance to make amends. All it would have taken would have been a simple apology and perhaps a kind word from those working within the technical support department. Maybe they missed out on your training?

We are out of pocket but most of all we have had to suffer added anxiety to an already stressful situation. I would like to know how you are going to address this matter. If I am not satisfied I will have no option but to take this further.

Like I previously stated I am not the type of person to make complaints but this has been an exceptional circumstance.

I have since heard from Sue that they have offered me £25.00 in vouchers.

Do you think I was right to complain?

Am I making too much fuss because it just happens to have come around at a bad time?

And do you think £25.00 is fair compensation for a replacement of my beloved iPad, the model of which I was quite happy with before it became faulty, considering I had to pay another £50 as the original model was now unavailable?

Your comments would be much appreciated. I now don’t even mind of you wish you let your own feelings known on the John Lewis Facebook page.

Honestly all this would have been avoided with a few words of kindness from the first person we spoke to in Technical Support, I do hope they learn from this experience.

Your comments would be much appreciated.

On a much happier note, both Colin and I felt very supported and comforted at our meeting yesterday with the Psychologist and Palliative Care Nurse. This time around I am much better at accepting help and both Colin and I are booked in for some reflexology at the Garden City Hospice. There is a lot of good in the world. Yesterday we returned to a beautifully cleaned home and the smell of our favourite Yankee candles. Our two best friends had dusted the place with their magic dust. They really are true and precious friends and we are so grateful to have them in our lives.
I also received a “Cloud of Loveliness” in the post from a new friend and we enjoyed a homemade fish pie thanks to mum. So the day ended well.

You will have to wait until tomorrow for the unveiling of the pencil portrait sketched at the hospital on Thursday, as I think it warrants not being soured by the morning events.

Have a good weekend my friends and family. Xxx

Scores on the board
PH = 3 ( back pain is now well controlled)
MH = 4 despite the stressful last few days.

9 thoughts on “Yet more poor customer service from John Lewis

  1. I’D HAVE GOT £25 VOUCHERS AND NOT PAID THE £50. LET ME AT THEM!!!!! I told you to expect £25 vouchers. But you also paid £50!!!! You are having a laugh! You’re still £25 down. Plus petrol costs and then upset. LET ME AT THEM. I CAN’T WAIT

  2. The friend I told you about yesterday who complained to John Lewis about the delivery of her bed, received £50 in vouchers – so you have been short changed!
    Don’t let them get away with it!! They should be ashamed of themselves..

  3. Hi Debs. I Think the 25 pound is a touch derisory.  Its almost like this is stage 1 of how to deal with a customer complaint. Keep writing Debs. X

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

  4. A donation to Myeloma Research plus vouchers for you would be the least John Lewis could do. As a family we all shop at John Lewis in Welwyn in most of their departments.
    Love Mum

  5. You should have complained, I hope you got a written apology with the vouchers. You mum had a lovely idea that jl donate to myeloma research. Have a good day xx 😃

  6. All power to your elbow Deb. You were well within your rights to complain. I hope you get a reasonable reply to your email. As for £25 – they are beneath contempt!

  7. Deborah, you go girl! Too often we allow these things to happen with no consequences to those perpetuating the problem and not being part of the solution. The letter was well-done. It is just a shame you and Colin had to put up with it.

    Rah-Rah!!

    Kathy

Leave a Reply

