Today is Healing Wednesday….

…as Kate very cleverly reframed it.

It is going to be a good day, the longer it is the more healing is being done.

Wednesdays is the day I have all three chemo drugs and I am very fortunate to be part of a trial that allows me to have a new drug with far less side effects. Yesterday I found out what a good job they really are doing when I heard my para proteins have dropped again to being too faint to quantify. The para proteins are my cancer marker cells. It would be nice to think at this point I could stop treatment but the naughty cells bury themselves deep into my bone marrow and need to be hunted out. As I know from experience following my chemo treatment at this same time last year, even a few remaining hard to quantify dirty rats seem to have a way of finding each other, regrouping and breeding like rabbits and before you know it you are back to square one. This time we are leaving no stone unturned and sending out an unwelcome message. The problem is that whilst chemo is doing a grand job on my cancer cells there are many innocent casualties among my red, white and plasma cells. I need to protect them as best I can with plenty of fluids, a healthy diet and a positive state of mind. My body is their battleground and I am the grounds woman. Yesterday my parents prepared a lovely picnic lunch for us to enjoy today and we shall pop out in between treatments to find a birthday present for Jems birthday tomorrow. I also received a lovely card from a new friend and many other kind positive messages that all help me to get on with the job in hand.
Meanwhile it is now 5.23am so I had better get myself up and sorted out if we are to leave in time to pick up Pollyanna by 6.15 and beat the rush hour traffic into the centre of London.

It looks like the sun will be shining today.

Thank you all so much for your continuous support

 

Deborah x

3 thoughts on “Today is Healing Wednesday….

  1. Good to learn about your para proteins, your chemo from now on should hunt out the hidden ones and hopefully destroy he rest of them.
    Look forward to hearing from you later.
    Lots of love Mum.

  2. Aww can you believe me, your baby is 25 tomorrow?!? I hope you haven’t spent loads. Your smile would be enough of a present tomorrow. I love you always and forever Mum xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

