Making plans…

seems to be pretty difficult when you have Myeloma as you never know what will happen next.

Over the last few days I have developed some sciatica pain. This is one of the red flags for Cauda Equine and unfortunately it is something that has to be taken pretty seriously. I was concerned so I rang my a London hospital yesterday evening and they advised I came over to A&E. Sitting in A&E on a Sunday evening when I could be home watching Mr Selfridge was very frustrating. I didn’t expect them to keep me in though. I eventually arrived on the ward just after midnight. At least I have my own ensuite room but having been given more steroids it was very difficult to sleep. The really disappointing thing is that Pollyanna has taken the day off work today and had planned to take me out for the day. She had even booked lunch in a Michelin star restaurant! It is in Cambridge but somehow I doubt I will get out of here in time and I am not exactly dressed appropriately. Hey Ho such is the life of a Myeloma patient.

I expect you are wondering how the bathroom is getting on. Well it has been quite a slow process but I think I will be able to show you the finished article by the weekend. It is looking really good, very clinical and easy to keep clean. I can’t wait to have my first bath in there. I was hoping to shop for some towels and bits today but we shall just have to see how it goes.

This week is my last week of my third chemo cycle and then I get a weeks holiday and I can’t wait. Maybe we will plan a trip somewhere? Or perhaps I shall have some long lazy luxurious baths in my new bathroom. We do however have plenty of work to keep us busy.

I am still entering lots of competitions with the help of my monthly Competitors magazine so I am waiting for my prize’s to start arriving soon. I am forever hopeful.

For any of my NHS colleagues that work in a hospital please check rooms out for loud ticking clocks. Most people have watches or phones that tell the time so I am not sure that a clock in the room is entirely necessary and it is just another thing to keep you awake at night. Never mind the constant reminder of how slow the time is passing. I mustn’t complain Addenbrooks is a lovely modern hospital and so far the doctors and nurses have been excellent. Hopefully I will get a cup of tea or even some breakfast soon.

Forever optimistic

Deborah x

3 thoughts on “Making plans…

  1. Did worry me Mum but you’re so strong I know you’ll be ok. I love you so very much. Maybe see you after my appt there later (if you’re still there) xxxx

  2. Hope you get checked out very soon but it’s good that they’re so thorough. I had two similar admissions with mild infections when my temperature rose to over 38•. I was discharged both times after two days without them finding any specific infection. Hope your experience is equally uneventful. Sometimes boredom is perfect when compared to an alternative. Big hug x

  3. Hope you are home soon, I love lazy Sunday evenings on the sofa, although I am Musketeers rather than Mr Selfridge. I shall make sure I appreciate them more and try to be glad I can go to work on a Monday morning! x

Leave a Reply

