Admitted to the ward

I arrived at Ambulatory Care on Thursday as Colin checked into the NHS hotel. Unfortunately I had a temperature so I had to be admitted to the ward. It’s not quite the same as staying in the hotel room with all it’s comforts but I do have a large room here with a bed that Colin can sleep on.

My temperature goes up and down but is up again this morning. I have an infection and I am now Neutropenic. This morning I will have the blood transfusion of platelets, as my platelet count is low. My white blood cell count is low too so I am open to picking anything up.

Hopefully the anti biotics which I have been having pumped into me since Thursday will start to bring the infection down soon. I have an upset tummy and a rather nasty mouth infection but beside that I am in good spirits .

I was especially cheered up by this lovely card that arrived at the Cotton Rooms yesterday.

image
Thank You so much Sharon, Tony and girls. I have had a few lovely cards recently and I do so love getting post. I have entered so many competitions lately that I am just waiting for my prize winning letter to come in the post now.

At least it’s not so boring here on the ward as there is always someone popping in to do something. I shall be staying on the ward now until I am well enough to be discharged home, which I hope won’t be too long. The doctors reckon I will be here for about a week but it will depend on how quickly they can bring this infection down.

The most annoying thing is you have to pay for the TV and it costs about £10/ day which I think is pretty expensive if you are here for a week. Of Course all this was free in the Cotton Rooms. And there is no lovely breakfast here just soggy toast! Not that I feel like eating much anyway, but poor Colin misses out.

Like I said I am in good spirits which is the main thing. Keeping my mental health in check will help my physical body to repair.

Last night I was able to enjoy news via Twitter, from the Nursing Standard Awards. It brought back some very happy memories. It was lovely to see pictures from the event held in the Savoy hotel. I was especially delighted to see school nursing being recognised. I hope our teams in Hertfordshire will think about being nominated next year.

I think I shall get on with writing some more of my Children’s Mental Health book for parents, today.

Have a good weekend

Deborah x

2 thoughts on “Admitted to the ward

  1. How you keep your spirits up is remarkable a true test of strength of charactor xx wishing you a speedy exit out of there and home soon xx when youre better would love to pop by its been too long xx love to you and Colin x………. hopefully this will post this time ive had to open new account……

  2. Hope you are out soon Debs we are all thinking about you even though we don’t get to see much of you. I’m sure you will finds things to keep yourself occupied lol xxx

Leave a Reply

