Ready as I can be….

….for the week ahead.

So the plan is, although as you have probably learnt by now plans have a habit of changing in the world of myeloma, that we will go down to UCLH in London again on Wednesday. On that day I shall have a new pic line inserted and be given a large dose of a very powerful chemo called Mephalan. Although high-dose melphalan is the most common chemotherapy regimen used to kill residual myeloma cells just before stem cell transplantation, it often causes side effects such as diminished production of blood cells, gastrointestinal problems, and increased risk of infection. I have been told to expect to be physically sick and have a terrible stomach upset, it is a necessary evil. I will be given ice lollies to eat whist the drug is being administered to help to avoid mouth sores. The next day I will receive my stem cells back. These were harvested over a year ago and have been waiting in a freezer somewhere until I needed them. I was hoping it wouldn’t be for a while yet but unfortunately my remission following the PADIMAC drug trial was very short.

I will start off in the Cotton Rooms (the NHS hotel) but at the first signs of sickness I will be transferred to the Haematology ward. Here I will stay in an infection controlled room until I am well enough to come home. This will be from anything between 2-4 weeks depending on how well the new stem cells engraph onto my bone marrow and whether I can remain free from infection. I should expect to feel extremely fatigued following the whole process and should allow 3-6 months before I feel anything like normal again.

For those of you who may be interested to read more about the whole process, please copy or click on this link:
http://www.myeloma.org.uk/information/myeloma-uk-publications-list/myeloma-treatment/high-dose-therapy-and-autologous-stem-cell-transplantation-infoguide/

I am as ready as I will ever be and have a marvellous team to support me. I won’t pretend not to be rather anxious about the whole thing but I will take your love, support and strength with me and get through it.

I am pretty fed up of being in treatment and look forward to a time free of hospital visits even, if it is only ever likely to be, for just a few weeks at a time.

I can count my blessing as I have the most wonderfully supportive husband and loving family by my side. Not to mention all the support I regularly receive from you all.

So here goes, I shall try and keep you posted as regularly as I feel able.

Thank you once again for all your kindness, I couldn’t do it without you all standing strong with me. It is hard to put into words the difference it makes and how much I appreciate it.

So wish me luck

Deborah xxxx

24 thoughts on “Ready as I can be….

  1. Just remember to take a picture of you and your family when you were well …. It will remind you of what is to come x x Good Luck and don’t worry x x

  2. Hey Deb, I don’t normally comment on stuff ‘cos I have the habit of not realising that I am saying the wrong thing, but I have to say how amazing and upbeat I think you are with all that you are going through. I really wish you good luck and a speedy passage through this phase……infection free….., and I look forward to seeing your lovely smiling face when you return home xx

    • Thank you Neil It is lovely to receive your comment this morning. I am able to stay upbeat only because of all your kind words and positive support.
      Xxxx

  3. Good luck Mum/Grandma… The best in the whole world. We love you so very much and always will no matter what. Baby says she or he will give you 7 months to get better and then meet you when due :). You’re one of the best parents ever and best grandma ever. Love to you always and forever, Jem, Elliot and baby xxxxxxxxx

  4. Good luck, Deborah – and Colin too! Keep up your wonderful positivity. Our
    thoughts and prayers continue to be with you. We look forward to seeing your wonderful smile in St Nicholas again before too long. Janet & Reggie

  5. Wishing you the very best of luck and all things good. Take with you the love and support of the army of people who are willing you better and will have you in their thoughts through this gruelling time. Visualise coming through the other end and the good times ahead. With love from Bernie Ryan xxxx

  6. Deborah, standing tall beside you in spirit, and also beside your family and especially Colin as primary care giver, and praying to every deity I know to keep you safe and grant you renewed strength and, ultimately, health. I can understand how totally fed up you must be with appointments and all the paraphernalia that goes along with an illness like this, both physical and mental. I’m sure I speak for everybody who is supporting you that we long for you to feel “normal” again, to feel like a person again, to be identified as yourself and not a medical issue, and to regain your vigour and ability to participate in all the family and assorted activities that you are having to currently postpone or miss. May all the powers send you peace of mind, faith hope and love, as you head into this next challenge. Love, Nicola

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  7. You really are an inspiration Deborah dear, keep it up and you will sail through all of this , you have done magnificently , and you are always in our thoughts and prayers. So will look forward to a nice cuppa and piece of cake round your table at the end of the year when Ian and I come and visit Letchworth , sending lots of love and luck to you both xxx

    • Looking forward to it. I am sure I will be fine just think in about 20 days from now I should be back sitting in my own lovely garden. Xxx

  8. Wishing you all the luck and love in the world and sending all the healing energy that I can. You are one amazing lady. Heather ( Armstrong) a friend of Kate’s .

    On Saturday, July 5, 2014, Welcome to the Parallel Universe wrote: > Deborah posted: “….for the week ahead. So the plan is, although as you have probably learnt by now plans have a habit of changing in the world of myeloma, that we will go down to UCLH in London again on Wednesday. On that day I shall have a new pic line inserted and ” >

  9. You will be in my prayers across the pond here in Portland Oregon. May God bless you with a speedy and lasting recovery. Congratulations on your new grand baby. Just know you will be feeling like a new woman when that bundle of joy arrives!

    Blessings,

    Toni

Leave a Reply

