July 21st – Day 11

Sorry I missed out on yesterday’s blog but even my eyeballs were hurting!

So here I lay continuing to ride the storm in my protected, air conditioned, sterile room high above London, with the most amazing views.

image
Unfortunately I had a pretty rough night. If I’m not tossing and turning or getting up to visit the bathroom then various machines are bleeping in my ear. The nurses have to come in and out to take regular obs and put up another IV medication or transfusion etc. This is not conducive to a good nights sleep even if my body wasn’t aching and I wasn’t constantly feeling like I was about to throw up. Still that was yesterday and it’s behind me now.

This morning dare I say I am feeling slightly better, if you ignore the short bout of sickness earlier. I am even wondering if I dare try some Rice Krispies this morning. Having not eaten anything now for at least 5 days you might think I may be losing a little weight, oh no not me, I have actually put on about 7kg’s!

The good news is that my neutrophils are rising and are up to 1.3. This means the new stem cells are graphing into my bone marrow. Soon my own immune system will improve and start to help my body to repair and hopefully keep that annoying temperature down.

Thank you all for sticking by my side you are my Rock.

Deborah xxx

6 thoughts on “July 21st – Day 11

  1. Hi,
    every new day is one day to the better, higher neutrophils! It’s a hard fight but you’ll come out as a WINNER! And when you are out you hardly remember all horrible things when fighting.
    I mean you’ll not forget, you go on your new life , you don’t think about it every day!
    After almost a year I’m so greatful I’m having a good life today. You never know about tomorrow, but today, this moment.
    Focus, focus! You’ll win!
    Sending you lots of power and energy!
    Keep on walking
    Sirkku

  2. So glad to hear that your cells are beginning to engraft. Sounds like the last few days have been very challenging though. I am hoping that the worst of it is behind you. Onward and upward! Ellen

  3. Dancing for joy Deb that you are on the up now. Having spent my career in hospital labs I know how devastating and risky those low counts can be, and can picture all those trials you are going through, the constant pokes, the transfusions, and so on. Sooooo, dancing for joy, and knowing in my heart that you are going to pull through just fine. Beside you, with a hug, albeit electronic! Nicola

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. Debs, sorry you’ve been feeling sick, hopefully the worst is over and every day you’ll feel a little better. Your window views are amazing, lots to look at. Good news about your stem cells. Thinking if you lots and sending lots of love. Take care. Love to Colin xxx 😘

  5. Great to hear that you are a little better Debs. Looking ahead to when you are better still, and I have my new kitchen, in a few weeks time, I am going to create you a fantasy cake. Please give me a theme to work with and I’ll start thinking about it now xxx

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

