Day 40 – Aug 19th 2014

I would like to report on my improvement but I am afraid I can’t do that just yet. The worse thing is the dreadful feelings of nausea which is much worse in the afternoon and I have actually been physically sick on the last three evenings. I seem to have tried all I can think of from the 4 different medications prescribed to ginger in various forma, mint tea, mint sweets, Rennies, Gaviscon and pressure point wrist bands. If any one has any other ideas I would be most grateful.

It is very hard to eat or drink much when you feel so sick. Yesterday I managed a small bowl of ready brek but that was it for the day. Today I have had some Rice Krispies with a few strawberries and some mint tea. Colin is going to cook some lamb chops for lunch so I will try my hardest to eat some otherwise I will fade away. I have become quite anxious about eating, never mind the fact I don’t fancy anything, because of how bad I feel in the evening, but it can’t help having all my medication sitting in an empty stomach.

Other than feeling sick I have become even more weak but today I will make some effort to get out of bed and spend some time downstairs.

Mentally despite all of this I am keeping depression at bay. Of course I am not happy with the situation but I am looking forward to a healthier future. At the moment however, I would settle for a day without nausea.

The palliative care nurse is coming out to see me on Wednesday morning and hopefully she may have some more ideas.

Sorry not to have been able to bring you more encouraging news but I suppose it’s still early days yet.

Deborah x

12 thoughts on “Day 40 – Aug 19th 2014

  1. Hi
    So sorry to hear you’re still nauseous. I have one suggestion which had no medical evidence as back up I’m afraid, although it was suggested by a Dr to a friend of mind when she could keep nothing down/ in and it stopped me being hospitalised when I was pregnant due to extreme nausea and vomiting. Ice cold grapefruit juice ( as cold as you can ) with sugar mixed in. It might be worth a try, good luck.
    Thinking of you
    Louise x

  2. There is a medication called domperidone i used it a couple of years ago when i had a problem with nausea due to a malfunctionning gall bladder. I had to get it from canada because they dont have it here in the us..i dont know if you can get it in england. But if you can possibly obtain this medicine it worked wonders for me. Nausea is disabling. Ihope this begins to resolve soon. Ellen

  3. Hi, sorry it has not starting getting better yet!
    My day 40 I felt it turned somehow. That very first day I walked 30 meter to my mailbox and back with a rest in the middle! But I was outside! Next time I walked without a rest and that was the way it started. Small , small steps!
    I could eat only spaghetti and spaghetti. Not any pasta, only spaghetti! I tried to drink energyprotein drinks, not good tasting, but I tried. And sometimes still throwing out but little by little it got better and better. This plain spaghetti was long time my only food I could keep. You can always try if it works for you. And try to take small walks just outside to feel the fresh air! And hear the birds singing! See the sun. Feel life!❤️
    And then rest, and REST and REST! Let your body heal in small steps! Give yourself TIME!
    Remember it takes a long time for a newborn to grown. That is the very same way for you! You are ONLY 40 DAYS OLD now! Like a newborn!
    Love

  4. Was one of the 4 meds Ondansetron? That worked for me. I really struggled to find things that I could eat. Most of the food HAD to be bland or it made me feel sick. Sometimes eating loads of something bland will help keep itself down, and you HAVE to have something on your stomach when you take your medication because otherwise you create a vicious circle unfortunately. I t will all of a sudden change and you will be well enough to feel your getting there, but it IS slowly does it. xxx

  5. Oh deb, I’m so sorry you feel so sick😞. Perhaps if you do eat it might make you feel better not having an empty stomach. I really hope you feel better soon. Love to you and Colin xxx 😘

  6. Keep trying to think of something helpful/clever/uplifting to say, but I don’t have the gift of inspirational words. I can only say you are still in all your followers thoughts/prayers/ willing, wishing positivity , whatever it is they believe in. I know there are many of us following who don’t know at times the right thing to say so we may not comment very often, but we are all still here, hoping, praying, wishing you well. xxx

  7. Here in the US the only drug thar worked for my daughter was Zofran. She found eating mashed potatoes was all she could eat. They are bland &filling. After a while she would have an Ensure protein drink each day with ice cream in it. Hope you feel better soon.

  8. Keep trying to eat a little of anything you can fancy,even if it is just a tiny amount it will help you to become stronger.You are in our thoughts and prayers sweet Debs and there are so many of us just willing you better.
    Xxx

  9. Oh Deborah… You are having such a difficult time. Praying for you right now. It’s about 6:10 am your time. praying you manage to eat and enjoy some food very soon.. Sending all my love.. xxx

  10. Corn flour pudding deb, not too thick. We have had his all our loves for every time when we couldn’t keep anything down …the cornflour pudding was the ticket. It always styled down. Sort with a few spoons and work up. Make it like exactly like custard but with cornflour instead. Hope today will be the last day you feel so sick xx

Leave a Reply

