A busy week

At the beginning of the week I wasn’t sure how I would find the strength to achieve all that I had planned. Each day however I have been getting a little stronger and I am delighted to report all has gone very well.

My first challenge was to have an evening out with some old colleagues back from the days when I worked at the Lister Hospital. It was something I haven’t been able to do for some time now.  I was kindly picked up by one of my friends and we met up with the other three girls at a lovely Turkish restaurant in Hitchin. A good time was had by all.

image

The next day a shopping trip was organised with Pollyanna. Planning ahead I called Shopmobility at the Cambridge Arcade and booked myself a mobility scooter. I found this quite emotional as I just wanted to be able to wander around with my daughter, as I was able to do, less than two years ago. It was however very helpful and worked out much better than being pushed around in a wheelchair and gave me the independence I needed. It is a free service and you even get to park for nothing and once I got the hang of it I was whizzing around in and out of all the shops I could get into.

image

It was also our 10th Wedding Anniversary on Thursday, and I felt very grateful for all the wonderful times Colin and I have spent together. We really are soulmates.

Friday was spent cooking and preparing for a family lunch on Saturday and packing up the motorhome for our trip away. This was something I couldn’t have even dreamed of doing last week when even getting downstairs was still quite a struggle. It was also great to feel I was able to help out a little and not leave everything up to Colin.

Yesterday was a lovely day as we were joined by Pollyanna, Jem, Elliot, Lucy (still in her mummy’s tummy), my nephew Charles, my parents and my Aunty Mo and her partner who were visiting from Australia. It was very exciting to see Mo who has been a great support to me, from the other side of the world via the internet.

So here we are today travelling down to the channel tunnel. The sun is shining and I am able to put Myeloma to the back of my mind. I am enjoying life again and taking full advantage of feeling well for the first time in many months. It is day 73 (of my Stem Cell Transplant) and I can assure my fellow myeloma buddies that there is light at the end of the tunnel. This was something only a few weeks ago I dared not to believe myself.

So very soon, slowly we will meander through little French villages, stopping at local patisseries for fresh croissants and a baguette or two. We shall sample local wines and enjoy some Moules Mariniere and Frittes. Most excitingly, we will be meeting up in a few days time, with our best friends Sue and Angela, who are already in the Haute Vienne region in France. We have every convenience on board our motorhome and we will enjoy relaxing, reading and just spending time together. This really is the good life, long may it last!

Much love to you all and thank you for helping make this possible.

Deborah x
PS. Just stopped off for a fry up as we are so early for our channel tunnel train.
image

11 thoughts on “A busy week

  1. I am so happy to hear that you are enjoying yourself and being out and about! Keep eating and resting and seeing friends you look so much better in your pictures! I aemire your excellent attitude! Ellen

  2. Hi,
    Soooo glad to read your news! And see your pics !
    You look really good! And happy!
    So nice that you can go to see your family and friends, go shopping, having as normally life
    as possible right now! It’s also good thing that on some few moments to be able to leave myeloma behind you. we know that it’ll resemble you soon again. But those short moments are really important ! ❤️
    Go on having as many happy times as possible! That gives you energy !
    Love
    Sirkku

    • Thank you Sirkku
      You are so right that we need to catch the moments when we are feeling well and make the most of life.
      I hope you are able to do the same at the moment.
      Take care dear friend
      Deborah x

    • What a shame we won’t be going quite so far down south, last year we had so much fun meeting up with friends and relatives running in the Bordeaux marathon. At least both Keith and I have regained some of our energy to get out there and enjoy life again! It sounds like our good friends have just put an offer on a house near Bellac so we will be meeting up with them to have a look at the end of the week after another trip to Futuroscope.
      Take Care and enjoy your trip away
      Xxxx

  3. Thrilling that you are able to be so active once again Deborah. Put those dreadful days right behind you and enjoy every moment of your trip to France, and all those other activities you are able to do now. Bodies, minds, and spirits are truly amazing the way they can bounce back. Thinking of you tooling around France in Helga, envious too!! Love and hugs, Nicola

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. I am delighted to read your post and so glad that you are feeling so much better Have a wonderful time in France, I hope the sun shines on you from morning till night. I look forward to visiting you perhaps when you get back for that cuppa. Very well done for your heroic feat, onward and upward. Much love, Bernie xx

  5. Happy anniversary to you both!!! So glad you’re back off in the camper van and enjoying the French delights!!

    Hope to catch up with you at some point soon… Love Colin’s shirt!!! Say hello from me!

    Diane xx

    • Hi Diane
      Great to hear from you.
      I hope the job and life is working out well for you.
      Kate is having a great time at the moment travelling around California with her partner 😉
      Take care lovely girl
      Deborah and Colin xxx

Leave a Reply

