I must admit today…

…I am feeling a little bit apprehensive. We are up early in order to try to leave just after 6am and not get caught up in too much rush hour traffic. Much of our time will be spent hanging around in the hospital, waiting for the blood tests results to come through before they can actually make up my medication. At 10’000 dollars per 28 day course, they have to make sure they get it right. The scary bit is, once it gets inside my body, we then just have to wait and see what happens. I will be carefully monitored so any adverse effects can be quickly addressed.

So today will be a long day, the first of six 28 day cycles of treatment.

It is a challenge to think of one thing to look forward to today, but it would be fair to say, getting back home again in one piece sounds attractive. And the one thing I appreciate today is having my husband by my side.

Please pray for me, or send me all your positive vibes.

Thank you

Deborah x

Scores on the board
Physical health = 5 due to back pain
Mental health = 8 due to anxiety

10 thoughts on “I must admit today…

  1. I wish you well. You are brave lady and your blog has helped me in prep for my own treatment. Pre-tests have now been organised for late Jan, so my countdown to BMT is about to begin.

  2. Love you loads Mum. Lets try get your MH down. Although I understand today’s very hard for you. Just keep fight fighting. You’re doing great. Xxxxxxx

  3. Debs, I hope it goes well today. I will certainly be saying a little prayer for you. Let me know if you need anything. Take care. Sharon xx πŸ˜˜πŸ™

  4. Hi Deb,

    You don’t know me but I am a Carfilzomib / Dexamethosone trial in Australia (an international trial run by Onyx), and currently at the end of the second 28 day cycle – first results are were good and as generally described side affects are “well tolerated”

    I am sure you will deliver the same with minimal discomfort and mental relief.

    Love reading your personalised blog and share the support which in my case I get from my wife.

    Keep strong,

    Robin

    • Hi Robin
      I am just waiting to have my first lot of Carfilzomib once this fluid has been flushed through. It is comforting to know you have had minimal side effects. It is always quite scary to have a drug for the first time. I now have a list of 46 tablets to take daily. It seems crazy to me. You might have read that I was previously on the PADIMAC trial which worked well but caused me a lot of neuropathic pain from the Velcade. Unfortunately I was only in remission for 5 months.
      Good luck with your treatment and thank you for getting in touch.
      Together we are stronger
      Deborah x

Leave a Reply

