Today I have a day off…

..so I hope to get down to some more work on the children’s mental health booklets. Writing the content is pretty easy for me, but setting it out in a way that’s appealing to all ages and parents, and looks professional, takes a little more hard work, creative thinking and practice.

Yesterday’s journey down to London took 2hrs 40min, but that’s Monday rush hour for you. I can’t imagine what it must be like to have to do that every day. If we leave after 9am we can sometimes do the same journey in an hours time. It’s a shame we have to use the car but going by train is simply too expensive.

The bone biopsy went off pretty smoothly as I enjoyed a good sleep and was oblivious to the procedure.

Diane, (my new guardian angel) popped in to explain the schedule for the next six months.

I have 3 weeks on and one week off.

The week consists of arriving for 9am on Wednesday mornings to have a special blood test that will determine the amount of the new chemo drug I will receive over the next couple of days. It takes approx 2 hours for the results to become available. I then have the drug administered by IV, which takes about 90 mins followed up by carefully monitored for the next couple of hours, in case of any adverse reactions. Wesnesdays will be a long days.

Thursdays don’t look quite so bad as I won’t need more blood tests and the drug should be ready in a fridge somewhere.

The rest of the week involves taking the chemo in tablet form at home.

I am just keeping my fingers crossed that the side effects are kept to a minimum. The most likely one, I won’t manage to escape from, is fatigue. So I will have lots of succumbing to look forward to once again.

I shall contact the pain nurse today for advice on managing my back pain which is causing me a lot of discomfort at the moment.

I am very grateful to mum who kindly did our shopping yesterday and made us a delicious shepards pie for supper.

Today I appreciate mum for all her support and I look forward to a pyjama day!

Have a good day

Deborah x

Leave a comment