July 24th – Day 14

Most mornings I receive a picture of the sunrise captured by my lovely Aunty Monica, who is living in South Africa. It gives me hope and I have dared to start to dream again. I am seeing a glimmer of light, a period of time free from hospital appointments and drug regimes. Once I get my energy back I think I will be able to enjoy some time out and perhaps even a trip away. Maybe an afternoon tea out with friends or a lovely massage at the local spa. I know I have previously written about the difficulty of planning anything with Myeloma, as the situation can change so rapidly, but I think the stem cell transplant may have made planning little treats, a possibility. Luckily we have also just been commissioned to produce another mental health resource so this will hopefully help to make days out financially more viable. Colin and I are even considering a week away to somewhere warm where we will be able to really relax and wash away the last couple of years of continuous hospital visits. Perhaps a spa hotel somewhere in Europe, even if it’s just for a few days. If anyone has any recommendations please let us know. Ooh it does feel good to dream again.

I think the paragraph above gives a good indication of the changes in my health. There is even talk of coming home at the weekend. I just need to get my temperature and diarrhoea under control. I also need to be able to manage without the oxygen, but it’s only Thursday so I have a few days to go. I even managed a few mouthfuls of McDonalds yesterday. I usually wouldn’t touch the stuff but I fancied some salty chips and the nurses recommended the milkshake due to its high calories. I also managed a whole banana which I need to try to consume daily as my potassium levels are regularly on the low side.

Today I feel I have lots to be grateful for so I just thought I would list a few of these below:
. That my stem cells have engrafted
. An army of willing friends and family that keep me upright and moving forward
. The scratch card I received in yesterday’s post that won £5
. Hearing the voice of my chatterbox grandson on the phone
. A text from a friend saying how proud I must feel of my daughter, which I am.
. That my husband can go home today for a well deserved break and I will be ok
. The excellent nursing care I am receiving at UCLH

There is so much more but I need to prepare myself for breakfast now.

The sun is shining and so am I.
Enjoy your day
Deborah xxxxxx

8 thoughts on “July 24th – Day 14

  1. You’re positive outlook is so refreshing to read, and I think this is what will get you through this chapter in your life. Keep strong! Lots of love xx

  2. Wonderful to start DREAMING again! ❤️
    The beautiful words written by your Collin! That is one of the very big reason to keep on walking to the days home without thinking of myeloma every day. Those days are on the way, Deborah! Those days will come!!!!
    In Sweden all the people with diagnose cancer have possibility to spend two weeks rehability in some beautiful place to get fysically and emotionally straight back. But people don’t use to know it. I wonder if there’s the similarly in UK, too? When I was in a home here it gave me soooo much!
    If you mail me your address so I will send you a little thing.
    X Sirkku

  3. Deborah you are an amazing woman! A role model for us alll! Hoping that you are home by the weekend. I am wishing you all good things! Ellen

  4. Hi Deb – lovely to hear the positives! I have been to a couple of hotels, not spa’s but do offer massage – one in Sardinia and one in Majorca, both quietish hotels ( Majorca one adults only).
    Love to you, Colin and Frodo.

  5. It was lovely to read your blog, it made me smile and I’m so happy that you’re feeling better and are planning a lovely break. Fingers crossed you’re home for the weekend. Keep smiling 😜. Love to you and Colin xxx

  6. So pleased to read yesterdays blog. If you fancy afternoon tea with friends in your garden, I have a lovely assortment of vintage cups, saucers, cake plates etc and love baking cakes. Would be a pleasure to lay on a tea party for you one sunny Sunday afternoon xxxx

Leave a Reply

