Things to remember when receiving chemo…

…it can be very dull and boring so take stuff to do! Before ever receiving chemo I hadn’t a clue of what to expect, but I did imagine it to be pretty traumatic and being strapped up to machines, whilst lying in bed. This however is not the case in my experience anyway, and yesterday was no different. Arriving at one of the biggest cancer centre’s in the country yesterday, we thought it must be closed. There was no busying around with people relaxing in chairs with beverages from the various food outlets, the place was practically empty with just one lonesome guy sitting behind a large reception desk, who pointed us towards the lift to ambulatory care. Ambulatory Care is a medical outpatient service, open 24 hours a day, to deliver services to those who would have normally require an overnight stay in hospital. Some people will come from home others will be staying in the hospitals own hotel. Can you believe a hospital has a hotel? Well the one at UCLH looks pretty good and is where I may stay during part of the time when I need the transplant. It is called the Cotton Rooms and you can have your partner stay there with you. Here is the link for those who may be interested.
http://www.cottonrooms.com/

So Colin and I sat for over three hours while the chemo was administered, as you can see I kept myself busy chatting to Kate on the phone.
image

It really is pretty easy going, the difficult bit is managing the side effects of the toxic drug they have just induced. Fingers crossed so far so good, yesterday we were both pretty tired so it was good to know that our little dog was being well cared for at his hotel in Weston aka Colin’s patents home.

Today I have woken up bright and breezy and have the job of doing some clearing out upstairs before Colin starts on sorting out the next room. This afternoon we look forward to catching up with our good friends and finding out about their trip to Norway.

The next rather scary part of treatment are the injections I supposedly have to give to myself over the next eight days.
image

I am hoping Sue will show me how and administer the first dose tonight, but I am not honestly sure I can do this to myself. The needle isn’t quite as small as I had imagined. I thought it would be more like the sort diabetics use, but this is at least half an inch long!!

We shall just have to see how things go. Maybe Kate will be up for it? Or one of my nice general nice friends will volunteer?

At least my body is tolerating the chemo pretty well so far, so I hope this good luck continuos.

Have a great Sunday

Deborah x

3 thoughts on “Things to remember when receiving chemo…

  1. I have had to do daily tinzaparin injections in my stomach for the last 10 days as my warfarin levels haven’t stabilised. Like you I didn’t believe I could do it but needs must (as a kid I fainted every time they gave us injections at school) But…….the tinzaparin are tiny not sure about the ones you have….half an inch sounds horrendous. So pleased you are tolerating the high dose chemo so well….gives me hope for when I get to that stage.

  2. Aww Mum. You can do the needle… You go through chemo and everything else your life has ever hit you with… Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

