Fantastic news alert

I have won the drug lottery, my ticket has been picked out of the hat!

My lovely research nurse rang to tell me the good news, rescuing  me from a weekend of anxious waiting and topping off what really was a  wonderful day.

I am not usually a great fan of my birthday, the weather is often pretty rough and we are all about done with parties, and recovering from the Christmas festivities. Last year I had just received my myeloma diagnosis and this year it has all come back to haunt me. However I was determined not to be downhearted and to thoroughly enjoy my celebrations.

imageimage
Official birthday photo’s (courtesy of Keith Bone)

The day was filled with love, kindness, family and friends. Mum and dad had helped to clean the house, and our best friends brought along a delicious homemade lasagne. Allison, another good friend and fantastic baker, turned up (as I had secretly wished) with the most delicious, light sponge, chocolate cake which very quickly disappeared.
image
Then throughout the day friends and family popped in with birthday surprises and I felt thoroughly spoilt.

Just look at these…

image

My new sparkly chemo slippers, one click together and I’m back home.

Talking about coming back home, Seb owes me a birthday hug so I look forward to receiving that, when he returns for a visit sometime in Spring. Meanwhile may I proudly share an article all about his work, recently published, in a well known American music magazine and another article from Pollyanna that appeared in yesterday’s Guardian. Both Polly and Seb are driven by their passions and work very hard doing jobs they love. This is for those of you who haven’t already caught up with all of this via Facebook.

http://recess.is/entrepreneurship/entertainment/ruskos-manager-music-industry/

http://gu.com/p/3yy68/tw

Elliot learnt how to say “Happy Birthday Grandma”, Jem is a great mum and teacher. After a walk out in the fresh air, and lots of birthday cake I think Elliot had just about had enough partying. So to top it all Elliot and Jem stayed the night providing the perfect ending to a very happy birthday.

imageimage

Thank you all for your company, cards, presents, emails, comments and good wishes via Facebook.

Have a great weekend xxxx

2 thoughts on “Fantastic news alert

  1. So pleased you’ve been selected to participate in the drug trial, Deb. You so deserve it.

    On looking at Pollyanna’s article in The Guardian, it seems clear that you’ve been an inspiration to her (not to mention everyone else around you). Well done!

    Mo xxx

  2. Thank you to Sue and Angela for the most tasty Lasagne I’ve ever eaten. (Even better than mine!)… The cake made by Alison was so delicious I had more than one slice! Shame it’s all gone! And thanks to everyone who helped make my Mum feel so special and loved. I’m very happy my Mum got to have such a lovely day xxxx

Leave a comment